ZdumpV - command /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime -c 2019,2039

The /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime -c 2019,2039 command provides information about ‘Daylight Saving Time’ in file /etc/localtime from 2019 to 2039.

Sample content from command zdump -v /etc/localtime -c 2019,2039 is:

/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 10 06:59:59 2019 UTC = Sun Mar 10 01:59:59 2019 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Mar 10 07:00:00 2019 UTC = Sun Mar 10 03:00:00 2019 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  7 05:59:59 2038 UTC = Sun Nov  7 01:59:59 2038 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Nov  7 06:00:00 2038 UTC = Sun Nov  7 01:00:00 2038 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Examples

>>> dst = zdump[0]
>>> dst.get('utc_time')
datetime.datetime(2019, 3, 10, 6, 59, 59)
>>> dst.get('utc_time_raw')
'Sun Mar 10 06:59:59 2019 UTC'
>>> dst.get('local_time')
datetime.datetime(2019, 3, 10, 1, 59, 59)
>>> dst.get('local_time_raw')
'Sun Mar 10 01:59:59 2019 EST'
>>> dst.get('isdst')
0
>>> dst.get('gmtoff')
-18000
class insights.parsers.zdump_v.ZdumpV(context, extra_bad_lines=None)[source]

Bases: insights.core.CommandParser, list

Parse the output from the /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime -c 2019,2039 command and store the ‘Daylight Saving Time’ information into a list.

Raises

SkipException -- When nothing is parsed.

Warning

The value in key local_time doesn’t include the TimeZone information

parse_content(content)[source]

This method must be implemented by classes based on this class.

insights.parsers.zdump_v.str2datetime(timestamp, tz=False)[source]

This function translates the time stamp into a datetime object.

Parameters
  • timestamp (str) -- the time stamp from command zdump -v

  • tz (bool) -- True if it’s UTC TimeZone.

Returns

the datetime object about the time stamp time_string (str): the formatted time stamp

Return type

time (datetime)